KCS Country Risk & Threat Advisory Briefing: West Africa

West Africa

Western Africa, specifically the Economic Community of West African States, (ECOWAS) could be on the verge of a major change. Fifteen countries in the region have agreed to adopt a single currency, the Eco, as of 2020, after a thirty-year negotiation. While the adoption will not be immediate and absolute for all, the idea is for a gradual rollout that will nonetheless unify the fifteen states and allow for a united advancement of monetary policy and, it is hoped, mutual economic benefits.

To read or download a copy of this report, please click here